January can be a brutal month — the cold, dark days are a strong foil to the clean slate of a brand shiny new year that should give me motivation to clean, organize, exercise, make lists and check things off.

There are some stand-out things about January, though. These things help me savor the January-ness we’re in right now.

BEST. SOCKS. EVER.

Ranunculus. Oh how I heart thee, ranunculus.

Yes, that is my sprout on the floor of the kitchen in her pajamas, mid-afternoon, next to some peacock feathers. And that’s also a George Foreman grill. What?

Anemones, you are a close second.

Flannel sheets. Hard to get out of bed in the morning.

Hot tubs. True story: I have the best neighbors in the world, one of whom has a hot tub on her deck.

Tomato basil soup. Tomato leek soup. Roasted tomato soup. Tomato soup with a slice of cheese on top.

Wolfe birds. Made in Jackson, make me happy.

Girl Talk radio on Pandora. Sprout and I have had major dance parties this week. I may or may not have thrown out my knee.

The 2011 David Austin Rose catalog. Grocery store roses = yuck. English roses = yes, please.

Vanilla Almond Black Tea. With a little milk and a little sugar. Like the Canadians.

This Patagonia vest is keeping me warm as I type.

Patagonia Women's Classic Retro-X Vest

I might have worn it every day this week. With this weather forecast, I may be living in it for a few more days.

Tonight Jan 7 Sat 8 Sun 9 Mon 10 Tue 11
Clear Sunny Few Snow Showers Freezing Rain / Sleet Few Snow Showers
Clear Sunny Few Snow Showers Freezing Rain / Sleet Few Snow Showers
N/A 44° 40° 38° 40°
High High High High High
32° 25° 31° 31° 24°
Low Low Low Low Low
Chance of Precip:
0%
Chance of Precip:
0%
Chance of Snow:
30%
Chance of Precip:
70%
Chance of Snow:
30%
