I’ve been thinking about who I want to be in 2011. I’m guessing the Julia Child/Martha/Jenna of J. Crew’s “Jenna’s picks”/my mom hybrid may not pan out for me all at once.

I want to be intentional with my time. I am realizing that entire weeks can go by when the only thing I accomplish is clean laundry. And that’s ok. But, I also want to make sure I’m becoming someone who is honorable, resourceful, wise, creative, and godly, and that I have outlets and time set aside for development in each of those spaces.

I resonate with the simple weekly goals laid out in this amazing blog I read:

1. Home Organization- cleaning out a closet, sorting the growing stack of stuff that needs to be filed on our desk, etc. Taking an organizational project and finishing it each week.

2. Project Completion- finishing a creative or home project. Keeping the creative juices moving each week.

3. Something for Someone Else- writing letters, spending time with our elderly neighbors, volunteering. I want our kids to grow up in a home where an others-focus is part of the norm.

4. Each Kid-Β  I only have one sprout right now, but as she gets older, this means helping her learn/do one thing that is important to her, to show her that I value her…and the same with any other sprouts that may come along. Right now that looks like “I value you, so you can spit up butternut squash in my hair all you want.”

Also, if I had this alarm clock, do you think it would be easier for me to get up at 6 am every day, make breakfast, and pray?

I think it would.

Other odds and ends:

Read more cookbooks. Starting with this one.

Read through my Bible.

Locate the best flea markets/thrift stores.

Learn to knit and needlepoint. Goal: homemade knit stockings by next Christmas.

Re-configure the front yard so that it doesn’t look like a crazy cat lady still lives in our house. Not that there’s anything wrong with cat ladies [ahem, CLAIRE].

Sew clothes for the sprout.

Grow more of what we eat.

Host dinner parties.

Spend more time with my closest friends. Let them see my dirt.

And of course, be laid back about all of the above, keeping what fits and letting the rest roll on off of my shoulders.

